Allergies · Baby · Weaning

Extreme weaning

When I was pregnant with Monkey one thing I was so looking forward to was weaning, exploring foods with my child. Different flavours, eating out, the food markets in London and of course, baking. Well, that didn’t work out for me, it’s been a bloody nightmare. Oh well, onwards and upwards.

As the smallest crumb can make Monkey react, we banned all the food containing his allergies from the house (as discussed in my last post) but I still need to introduce Ladybird to these foods to see if she can handle them; this has resulted in what I call extreme weaning.

To introduce Ladybird to fish I bought some fish from the local fish and chip shop, and headed for the local park where we sat on a blanket and tried some fish. I took the batter off (I have since heard I can get them to grill the fish so no batter) and the week after that we went to a café and tried it again. Both times she was fine, so that’s a tick for cod. But I think we may have to do this more often when Monkey is at nursery, to keep her tolerance to it up.

 I still have a long list of foods that I once considered yummy but now I see as scary. I may have created an irrational fear of them. Like they could make my child explode or something. Most nuts, peanuts, chick peas, sesame seeds, eggs, kiwi, dairy, wheat and fish all make me shake with fear. I feel I should try and not be so scared of these things, but it is hard once you’ve seen your child’s face swell up.  

After introducing Ladybird to different foods, and seeing that some of them can cause reactions, we were off to the allergy clinic once more for patch testing and all that jazz. The results are in:

She is IGE allergic to Eggs and Kiwi and Non IGE allergic to dairy and they think wheat. All of which are now cut out of both our diets. Here’s a quote to explain more about our complicated lives:
“In an IgE-mediated food allergy, reactionsusually happen within a few minutes of eating the food. Common symptoms are reddening of the skin, an itchy rash, and swelling of the lips, face or around the eyes. A rare but more serious reaction is anaphylaxis ……Non-IgE-mediated food allergy. This type of allergy is not caused by IgE antibodies (it is usually because of cell reactions in the immune system).Non-IgE-mediated reactions often appear several hours or days after the food is eaten and can cause symptoms over a longer period, such as eczema, diarrhoea, constipation and, in more severe cases, growth problems.” https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg116/ifp/chapter/diagnosing-your-childs-food-allergy

 The other patch testing came up negative to peanuts, soya and sesame so I need to give her all of these (one at a time) and see. I don’t really want to give her soya as I’m not a massive fan of this over processed bean, I’ve been warned off it.

After two weeks of no wheat my baby is still so itchy and gets very worked up at meal times. It’s time for a very extensive food diary for us both, to see what it is and back to the steroid creams that I hate so much but need as nothing natural I find seems to stop the flare ups. Still, I am very blessed with a strong warrior girl with lots of fight in her.   

So the allergy fun continues….. 

Leave a Reply

