Family · Toddler Fun!

Tantrums galore!

I’ve always considered myself lucky as Monkey appears to be very well behaved and not over the top with his tantrums. I put it down to the fact that he can talk so well and so can explain what he wants. Yes, he does have meltdowns but not that often. I fooled myself into thinking that we were going to by-pass this stage gently.

 Well, I was totally wrong about that, tantrums are definitely here. The other day he screamed for a rice cake all the way to nursery and then on the way home he was screaming for cake! (sugar free, Gluten free cake of course).

He has mastered a disobedient face, with narrow eyes and a mini, moody teenager voice. I have started to tell him to use his ‘nice voice’ as he just sounds so silly.

I find myself asking ‘where, oh where has my child gone?’

Don’t get me wrong, he is still my amazing, beautiful, kind boy who I wouldn’t change for the world. However, sometimes urg, urg, urg!

 My mum has admitted that she would hide in the airing cupboard for a break, unfortunately I am not as lucky as her. I have worked out that if I leave the toilet door open and hide behind it he can’t find me for awhile. This doesn’t last long, but at least it gives me one minute to myself. To my disappointment he has learnt to open the bedroom door.

 I know I’m not the only one going through this, the other day I was walking with my tantrumming toddler in the buggy. We passed a mother with her tantrumming toddler and wished each other luck as we walked on by. I find myself breathing deep, willing myself to stay calm. Sometimes I just laugh, sometimes I ignore and sometimes I give in. 

Leave a Reply

