Baby · Family

Why I chose not to have the Down Syndrome test during pregnancy.

 

Our New Baby

 The main reason I choose not to have the Down Syndrome test for any of my pregnancies is, when I was born I had many problems. They weren’t sure whether I would survive and if I did, how disabled I wold be. Luckily, in the end my disabilities, even though difficult (OCD, dyspraxia and dyslexia), could have been so much worse. Why would I abort a disabled child when I myself have disabilities?
Even though it would be hard, and I’m sure there are times it would break us, we would love a disabled child. It does worry me, would I be able to cope? We would have to! 

Me as a new born

 I understand why people do have the test for Down Syndrome and other disabilities. It’s a scary prospect. I can see why people would want to know. I can understand why people may have an abortion because they may feel they can’t cope with a disabled child.
But I cannot truly decide if I agree with this or not. Is it fair to bring a child into the world that you won’t be able to look after? On the other hand, you don’t know how bad their disability would be and is it fair to terminate a baby because they will be disabled?

I think these questions could go on forever and I’m sure everyone will have their own opinion, each of which are valid. I think you could write a book discussing this, but we should all be thankful we live in a society where we have a choice and can voice our opinion.

Monkey enjoying life

One positive aspect to knowing if we were having a disabled child would be I could prepare myself mentally and physically with knowledge and support. 

My husband and I chose not to have any of my pregnancies tested for Down Syndrome.
Before having Monkey I had a missed miscarriage, so with monkey we just felt blessed to be pregnant again.

What ever happens, disabled or not, we will love this child to the moon and back and try to be the best parents we can.

 

Me as a new born
 
Mummascribbles
<a href=”

Mommy A to Z Manic Mondays Blog Hop
14 thoughts on “Why I chose not to have the Down Syndrome test during pregnancy.

  1. We didn’t have the test done with either of my pregnancies either. I think, similar to you, I’d had a miscarriage prior to my first full-term pregnancy and was just so happy to be pregnant. Strangely, I had a test done for spina bifida, which showed an elevated risk of my daughter being born with Down’s (which I had opted NOT to test for and didn’t know was part of the spina bifida test). We ultimately declined further testing because I didn’t want to risk the pregnancy and I knew in my heart she’d be fine. And she was born healthy and amazing! Thanks for sharing at the Manic Mondays blog hop!

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting, somethings are best kept to nature I believe. As long as they are loved that is the most important thing. These tests aren’t always right and they carry such risks with them xx

      Like

  2. We have had the test done with both babies but it’s more to do with preparing ourselves in the instance that it did happen. I was reading up on it and the amount of people who have had a high risk come back only to have an amnio and baby being absolutely fine is really high. I’ve been low risk both times although the numbers have dropped significantly this time round. If it came back high risk and we found out it was a downs baby, it wouldn’t make us think twice about continuing with the pregnancy – it would just help us to prepare a little better in case that was the outcome. We would love the baby just as much. Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

  3. I personally really agree with what you posted laura and also did not have the screening done this pregnancy. I did find that a lot of professionals questioned this…even at the midwife appointment 4 weeks after scan I was still asked by my midwife as to why i decided to avoid testing. If I were in a very high risk category i would understand a little, but I’m not even 30! I feel it is a little intimidating…but just like you I feel i would love my baby unconditionally xx

    Like

  4. That’s really interesting – I haven’t actually known anyone not have the test done. I did have the nuchal translucency, as it carries no risks. But I was not decided on whether I would have had an amnio had the nuchal suggested a risk. I figured that, if the nuchal suggested low risk (as it did), that was reassuring, though no guarantee. If it had suggested high risk, I’m not sure if I would have been willing to risk the invasive procedure, or would have wanted to take any action, but I would have liked to at least know there was a higher risk, because I would rather be prepared. Not to say that I couldn’t or wouldn’t cope with whatever disabilities there could be, as I think I would have, but I would rather know in advance and be able to prepare appropriate birth plans, etc for any risks. I can see your argument too, though. I think really people just need to do what feels right for them. #twinklytuesday

    Like

  5. It really it such a tough decision, great post on a touchy subject. We also chose not to have the test done, we were a low risk pregnancy so decided to let our “rainbow” baby have the best possible start in life. Thanks for sharing, hope bump is doing well 🙂 G X p’s: cute newborn 🙂

    Like

  6. We also chose not to have the test done with our pregnancy. We knew it wouldn’t change anything for us so we decided we would rather not know. We are very lucky to have a healthy daughter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

