Family

The traditional Marriage (kind of) 

  So many women have fought for women’s rights. We have come so far since the “little lady being chained to the sink”.
We can vote, have careers and equal pay (almost). All these things are amazing and I don’t think my generation appreciates what has happened in the past so that we can have this life.

Out of choice I have decided to be a stay-at-home mum and wife. Completely dependent on my husband financially. He pays the bills and in return I cook, make his pack lunch, clean and care for our son. He does help a bit and more so now that I’m pregnant, but it’s mainly my role. I know some people may think this is awful, but this is my choice.

Don’t get me wrong, we are equal! I will give my opinion whether it’s wanted or not, and he asks for my advice.

I respect all these amazing women with their super careers, but being a stay-at-home mum and wife is perfect for me. I feel blessed that my husband has given me this opportunity. 

 
<a href=”

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

<a href=”

Mommy A to Z Manic Mondays Blog Hop

Pink Pear Bear

17 thoughts on “The traditional Marriage (kind of) 

  1. Being a SAHM is hard work and the family wouldn’t function without someone taking care of the kids and home…which sounds pretty equal to me! Sounds like you’ve made a great and fulfilling choice. Thanks for sharing at the Manic Mondays blog hop!

    Like

  2. I also think that you should do or choose what makes you happy! I did a little bit of everything: working full time, then part time and now I’m a SAHM. I like being a SAHM and be close to my girls and not miss anything. But at the same time I also do something for myself that makes me happy and this is blogging/vlogging. So combining both things for me is the perfect match because I finally feel fulfilled!! Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I’m happy to have your for the first time. I hope that you like it! I would love to see you again on Sunday! 🙂 x
    PS: can I have your twitter handle so I can share this post? I couldn’t find it.

    Like

  3. Love the wedding photo, it captures a perfect moment! There is nothing wrong with being a SAHM, you get to have a wonderful life with your child. I believe it’s important to do what makes you, your husband and your children happy, whether that’s working full or part time, or being a SAHM. No matter what you choose they are all hard roles to fulfill. Claire x #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. Love your wedding photo. I am now a stay at home Mum since having our second child. Before that I worked full-time. I loved both but both for different reasons. It is down to each individual to make their choice and as long as them and their family are happy then that is what is important 🙂 #KCACOLS

    Like

    1. Thank you, we had an amazing day.
      Every situation is different and neither is wrong. I love staying at home but there are some days a computer and silence would be bliss
      Thanks for commenting

      Like

  5. Whilst I have taken a different option and am possibly what would be known as a ‘career woman’, I still love reading your blog. Having spent the evening speaking to a friend of his at a party, my partner asked me why I didn’t cook his meals and do his washing etc. When I pointed out that if we had children and I was staying at home to look after them like his friend’s wife, whilst he went out to earn the money like his friend, then I would also cook for him when I did for the children, and do his washing alongside everyone else’s. However, since I worked longer hours than him, he could get on and do his own. As which point he admitted that he had never thought of it like that. To me its a question of practicality, not gender, and that’s what all those generations of women were fighting for – equality e.g. the possibility of making different choices in different circumstances. Ultimately, it’s a question of what works for each family.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading, it makes me so happy you enjoy it.
      You have an excellent point, and it really is a basic fact! Why should it be a female role? It is what works best for each family!
      As a society we are very slowly realising this but it’s so ingrained into us it’s such a slow process.
      But one day we will alway be equal no matter what!

      Like

  6. Beautiful wedding photo! I am the same as you, I fully understand that women actually sacrificed their lives so that women could have equal rights to men, and I have huge respect for career women and working mums! But I have also chosen to stay at home, and will do until both of the children are at school. I do all of the cooking, cleaning, and all other chores, but my husband still treats me as an equal, and has the utmost respect for what I do! My husband always opens doors for me, pulls out my chair, helps me on with my coat etc, and some of my friends say they find this quite sexist and wouldn’t like it, but to me it’s good old fashioned romance, and I love it!
    Thanks so much for sharing with #bigpinklink!

    Like

  7. Everyone needs to do what they feel is right for them and their family, whether that’s working full-time, part-time or being a stay-at-home parent. If you’re happy, that’s all that matters! #KCACOLS

    Like

  8. Whatever floats your boat, I say! As wifes, mothers and women, we always feel the guilt and wonder whether we are doing enough. In actuality, we are often doing far more than our fair share! I loved being home with my kids, but I became pretty stir crazy and not to mention a bit grumpy. Being a stay at home mom is the hardest, most selfless job in the whole world!
    #KCACOLS
    Tori
    http://www.themamanurse.com

    Like

    1. It isn’t easy, there is always a challenge especially now we are hitting the terrible twos. But I wouldn’t change it!! I must say blogging is my ‘adult’ time.
      But I agree each to there own!
      X

      Like

Leave a Reply

