Family · Social

OCD, the monster on my shoulder! 

   One thing I always have believed is that mental illness needs to be talked about, the more we talk the more we understand, so never be afraid you’re not alone!

“Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) is a serious anxiety-related condition where a person experiences frequent intrusive and unwelcome obsessional thoughts, often followed by repetitive compulsions, impulses or urges.” http://www.ocduk.org/ocd

I used to let my OCD define me, now I have more control and have taken my life back. I still have many challenges and I know I will always have this little monster on my shoulder, I will need to keep putting it back in his place, but for the first time in my life I am coping.

I would like to talk more about my OCD in my blog, it’s just taking me a little longer to find the right words, I want to inform rather than moan. 

So here I go…..

I’ve had OCD since I was 6, I find that it constantly changes adapting to my every move.

When my OCD is bad I find it hard to hide, the repetitive checking or obsessional talking comes out. It can be tough for others around me to deal with what I’m saying or doing, but I have been blessed (for some reason) with amazing family and friends. (Thank you)

OCD comes hand in hand with some depressing times and panic attacks/ freak outs. This means sometimes I just find it hard to cope, too much is happening in my head. So I am learning to give myself ‘time out’ to get back on track.

I didn’t think I would be able to handle a child and OCD, I know this was also a concern for others too. But I did it, we are managing!  

Monkey is a blessing, I truly believe he is mine because I can cope with him and he can cope with me. I don’t know how I got such a calm baby.

To deal with my OCD, I have found the best thing is not medication but cognitive behavioural therapy, which has made me learn new ways to challenge what is in my head. 

I hope this is a little insight into my OCD, everyone’s OCD is a different type, this is mine.

Maybe I will find the right words to tell you more, or maybe not, but don’t be afraid to ask me.

Mommy A to Z Manic Mondays Blog Hop
Epic Mommy Adventures 

Leave a Reply

